LA GRANGE – The La Grange Home and History Tour provides attendees the opportunity to view interiors of five homes in the La Grange area and tour two historic buildings that are not residences. The tour will take place from noon to 5 p.m. Sept. 14.
Advance tickets are encouraged and can be purchased online at www.lagrangehistory.org. Tickets can be purchased on the day of the tour at the La Grange Area Historical Society or the Emmanuel Episcopal Church, 203 S. Kensington Ave.
Advance tickets are $30 for LGAHS members and $40 for nonmembers. Tickets on the day of the tour are $35 for LGAHS members and $45 for nonmembers.
Featured on the tour are:
• The Truax Home, 212 S. Seventh Ave. Built in 1887, this home has seven bedrooms and five baths. It is complimented by a unique, outdoor garden and entertainment space. Enjoy the magnificent stonework constructed by the original owner, who lived there from 1887 to the 1950s.
• The Hart Home, 48 N. Drexel Ave. The three-story Dutch colonial style home was built between 1912 and 1918. Showcasing innovative amenities for its time, its entryway is elegantly graced by a magnificent “Bridal Staircase.”
• The Schultz Home, 222 S. Kensington Ave. This 1893 house received extensive renovations in 2014. The owners remodeled and achieved a contemporary style mixed with elements of the past. It boasts original wood and plasterwork.
• The Padgett Home, 137 N. Kensington Ave. This building began in 1887. Originally the Swedish Lutheran Church, it subsequently became the first Grace Lutheran Church. Now a private residence and unique living space, the Padgetts were married here on Aug. 20, 2016.
• The Polomsky Home, 406 N. Catherine Ave. Restored in 2015-16, this home was built by George Hess, a pioneer farmer in La Grange Park who operated a dairy here and was mayor from 1909 to 1913.
• The Emmanuel Episcopal Church, 203 S. Kensington Ave. Standing in the geographic center of La Grange as configured in 1874, this church was rebuilt after a devastating fire in 1924. Only the bell and 45 tons of coal survived. It is now on the National Register of Historic Places.
• The Historic Vial House, 444 S. La Grange Road. Built in 1874, Vial House is the oldest house in the community. Once part of an enormous farm extending through Countryside, it is now the home of the La Grange Area Historical Society.
During or after the tour, guests are invited to stop by the Vial House from 1 to 5 p.m. to enjoy the Salt Creek Orchestra and light refreshments.