Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.
Local News

Milton Township trustee to fill senate seat for veto session

Nick Nathwani appointed to vacated 24th District seat

Chris Nybo, who served the 24th Illinois Senate District since his election in 2014, has resigned from his office.

The Republican 24th Senate District Selection Committee announced Nov. 27 the appointment of Yadav “Nick” Nathwani, a Milton Township trustee from Glen Ellyn, to the Office of State Senator for the 24th Senate District of Illinois, according to a Nov. 27 DuPage County Republican Central Committee news release.

Nybo conceded the loss of his seat in the Nov. 6 election in a Nov. 10 Facebook post to Western Springs Democrat Suzanne “Suzy” Glowiak.

“Ballots are still being counted, but it is clear to me that Suzy Glowiak will be our next senator and I will return to private life,” Nybo had said in the post.

According to unofficial results from the DuPage County Election Commission last updated Nov. 20, Nybo had lost by 1,532 votes in DuPage County precincts. In Cook County, he lost by 104 votes, according to unofficial results displayed Nov. 27 on the Cook County Clerk’s Office website.

Nathwani, 35, was first elected as a Milton Township Trustee in 2013, served on the Glenbard High School District 87 board from 2009 to 2013 and has been a DuPage GOP precinct committeeman and DuPage Young Republicans member since 2011, the release stated. He is employed as the Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of Professional Paving and Concrete Company and has a bachelor’s degree in social science and an MBA in finance from Benedictine University, according to the release.

The Selection Committee consisted of DuPage County GOP Chairman Brian Krajewski and Lyons Township GOP Committeewoman Christine Cook and the following nonvoting members: Downers Grove Township GOP Chairman Bob Grogan, Milton Township GOP Chairman Chris LeVan, York Township GOP Chairman Tony Cuzzone, Addison Township GOP Chairman Chris Kachiroubas and Lisle Township GOP Chairman Jay Fisher.

“Yadav will be a great State Senator for the 24th District during the upcoming veto session,” Krajewski said in the release. “As a Milton Township Trustee, Yadav knows the difficult issues facing west suburban residents.”

The remainder of Nybo’s term, which Nathwani will now fill, ends with the swearing-in of the 101th Illinois General Assembly on Jan. 9, 2019.

“It is vitally important the 24th District has a voice and a representative in these final weeks when important votes are being taken,” Nathwani said in a Nov. 27 Senate Republican staff news release. “While my time in the Senate is limited, I am fully dedicated to addressing constituent issues, advocating for better government policies, and most importantly, serving the interests of our communities. It is a distinct honor to serve, and I have begun work immediately in Springfield to begin my committee assignments and discussions for Legislative Veto Session. I encourage residents to stay involved and reach out to me about their legislative priorities. Their input will guide my votes over the following weeks.”

Nathwani has been appointed as the Minority Spokesman on the Senate Financial Institutions Committee and will serve on the Senate Committees for Gaming, Commerce and Economic Development, Energy and Public Utilities, as well as the Special Committee on Oversight of Medicaid Managed Care, the release stated.

Nathwani was sworn in Nov. 27 and took office Nov. 26. He can be reached by district residents at 217-782-8148 and

The 24th Senate District is primarily in DuPage County, with six precincts in Cook County. It includes all or parts of Darien, Elmhurst, Oakbrook Terrace, Wheaton, Clarendon Hills, Downers Grove, Glen Ellyn, Hinsdale, Lisle, Lombard, Oak Brook, Villa Park, Western Springs, Westmont and Willowbrook.

Loading more