Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

ELECTION 2013: Keith Giagnorio looking forward to being next Lombard president

Keith Giagnorio visits Village Hall on Wednesday after being elected Lombard's next village president.
Keith Giagnorio visits Village Hall on Wednesday after being elected Lombard's next village president.

LOMBARD — For the first time in nearly 20 years, Lombard will have a new village president. Keith Giagnorio won the seat Tuesday night with 48.8 percent of the vote.

Behind him were John Novak with 39 percent of the vote and Moon Khan with about 12 percent.

Giagnorio will become Lombard's first village president following the legacy of late Village President Bill Mueller, who died in August after serving almost five terms.

"(The residents) want a village president who is in touch with (them), someone who is actively involved in the community and who will keep Lombard first," Giagnorio said in a statement. "I intend to fulfill their wishes and lead us into the future by appreciating our past, improving the present and planning for our bright tomorrow."

Giagnorio is a 28-year Lombard resident and owner of Gianorio's Pizza in town. He previously served as village trustee for Lombard's District 2, and before that served as a Lombard Park District Board commissioner and Park District Board president.

He and his wife have two children.

During the campaign, Giagnorio's opponents criticized the actions of the Village Board last fall, when the six members divided into two perceived factions and took nearly six weeks to reach an agreement on who should serve as acting village president and complete the remainder of Mueller's term.

Novak and Khan argued the board had embarrassed the village, that it had failed to think of residents first and tainted Lombard's reputation.

Although he acknowledged the difficulties the board has experienced, Giagnorio was much more optimistic about Lombard's recent accomplishments, such as new businesses downtown and continued plans for growth.

Novak, a longtime resident and former DuPage County treasurer, was influenced to run for election after witnessing discord among trustees and Lombard's bond rate drop.

Following the election, Novak said he plans to remain engaged in local politics, and specifically those issues that motivated him to run for village president.

"Not only will I be paying attention, I think everyone will be, too," he said.

Khan was born in India and is a former York Township trustee. During his campaign, he publicly partnered with District 3 trustee candidate Muzammil Saeed and village clerk candidate Deanne Theodore.

Like Novak, Khan plans to stay active in politics, especially as Lombard and DuPage County continue to become more diverse communities.

"We vote as many, but we govern as one," he said. "I urge Lombardians to give Village President-elect Keith Giagnorio full support to manage the village well. I pledge him mine. I urge all who stood with us to unite behind our next president."

Lombard's Village Board also will see two new trustees to help lead the village.

In District 1, Dan Whittington, a downtown Lombard leader and former president of the Lombard Town Centre, won a trustee seat with 57 percent of the vote over incumbent Greg Gron, who had 30.6 percent, and candidate Deborah Messineo-Jones with about 12 percent.

Reid Foltyniewicz, an Oak Brook police officer, won the District 3 seat over incumbent Zachary Wilson and candidate Saeed. He received 41.6 percent of the vote, while Wilson had 38 percent and Saeed garnered 20 percent.

Lombard's new village clerk is Sharon Kuderna, who received 60 percent of the vote, winning against Theodore.

Vote totals are unofficial until certified.

Loading more