DOWNERS GROVE – Located at 4632 Main St., this Craftsman Bungalow was built in 1922, and it is proudly owned by Brian and Karen Beechler.
Their love for this house shows in their maintenance of all the original details this charming home features. Among other things, they even have the original storm windows.
With so many of the original architectural details intact, this is an excellent example of the Craftsman Bungalow style, which was popular in Downers Grove and the western suburbs from 1890 to about 1930. Bungalows are typically 1.5 stories in height, and they have a gently pitched roof and wide eaves.
Known as the “Cameron House,” the Beechlers' home has a rustic look with its clapboard siding and brickwork. Notably, the Cameron House is a kit home built by the former Harris Brothers firm from Chicago, which also is infamously known for having disassembled the original Ferris wheel following the 1893 Columbian Exposition.
For more information on how to landmark a home, contact the Downers Grove Community Development Department at 630-434-5515 or visit Friends of the Edwards House on Facebook.