Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

Cook County-area candidates gear up for primary

Berwyn resident Judi Swicionis is all smiles as she heads into Berwyn City Hall to vote April 4.
Berwyn resident Judi Swicionis is all smiles as she heads into Berwyn City Hall to vote April 4.

The holiday season is in full swing, but the next election season isn't far behind.

Candidates had a week to file their nominating petitions to secure their names on the March 20 primary ballot. The deadline to file petitions was 5 p.m. Dec. 4.

Voters will have the opportunity to elect candidates for Congress, governor, the Illinois General Assembly and various Cook County seats.

A finalized list of county candidates has not yet been released by the Cook County Clerk's Office. Candidate filings are available at The filings indidate if a candidate is being challenged or has withdrawn.

Candidates running in area races include:

3rd Congressional District

Democrat: Daniel William Lipinski, Marie Newman

Republican: Arthur J. Jones

4th Congressional District

Democrat: Luis V. Gutierrez, Richard Gonzalez, Sol A. Flores, Raymond A. Lopez, Jesus "Chuy" Garcia, Proco "Joe" Moreno

Republican: Ruben D. Sanchez Jr., Jay Reyes, Mark Wayne Lorch, Ann Melichar

5th Congressional District

Democrat: Mike Quigley, Benjamin Thomas Wolf, Steven J. Schwartzberg, Sameena Mustafa

Republican: Tom Hanson

6th Congressional District

Republican: Peter Roskam

Democrat: Becky Anderson Wilkins, Amanda Howland, Kelly Mazeski, Jennifer Zordani, Sean Casten, Carole Cheney, Ryan Huffman

7th Congressional District

Democrat: Danny K. Davis, Ahmed Salim, Anthony V. Clark

Republican: Craig Cameron, Jeffrey A. Leef

11th Congressional District

Democrat: Bill Foster

Republican: Constant G. “Connor” Vlakancic, Nick Stella


Republican: Bruce Rauner, Jeanne Ives

Democrat: Daniel Biss, Bob Daiber, Terry Getz, Tio Hardiman, Chris Kennedy, Robert Marshall, J.B. Pritzker

12th Illinois Senate District

Democrat: Steven Landek

24th Illinois Senate District

Republican: Chris Nybo

Democrat: Suzanne “Suzy” Glowiak

41st Illinois Senate District

Republican: John Curran

Democrat: Bridget M. Fitzgerald

8th Illinois House District

Democrat: La Shawn K. Ford

23rd Illinois House District

Democrat: Michael J. Zalewski

24th Illinois House District

Democrat: Elizabeth "Lisa" Hernandez, Robert Rafael Reyes

47th Illinois House District

Republican: Deanne Marie Mazzochi, Anthony R. Arendt

Democrat: James M. "Jim" Caffrey, Anne Sommerkamp

82nd Illinois House District

Republican: Jim Durkin, Michael "Mickey" Straub

Democrat: Tom Chlystek, Elyse Hoffenberg

Loading more