Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

Primary races take shape as candidates file to run

Steve and Barbara Kolenko (front), along with other voters, walk down the sidewalk Nov. 8, 2016, to St. Andrew's Episcopal Church in Downers Grove to cast their ballots.
Steve and Barbara Kolenko (front), along with other voters, walk down the sidewalk Nov. 8, 2016, to St. Andrew's Episcopal Church in Downers Grove to cast their ballots.

The holiday season has just hit its peak, but the next election season isn't far behind.

Candidates for county, state and federal offices had a week to file their nominating petitions to secure their names on the March 20 primary ballot. The deadline to file petitions was 5 p.m. Dec. 4.

Voters will have the opportunity to elect candidates for Congress, governor, the Illinois General Assembly and various DuPage County seats.

Candidates running in area races include:

5th Congressional District

Democrat: Mike Quigley, Benjamin Thomas Wolf, Steven J. Schwartzberg, Sameena Mustafa

Republican: Tom Hanson

6th Congressional District

Republican: Peter Roskam

Democrat: Becky Anderson Wilkins, Amanda Howland, Kelly Mazeski, Jennifer Zordani, Sean Casten, Carole Cheney, Ryan Huffman

8th Congressional District

Democrat: Raja Krishnamoorthi

Republican: Jitendra "JD" Diganvker, Vandana Jhingan

11th Congressional District

Democrat: Bill Foster

Republican: Constant G. “Connor” Vlakancic, Nick Stella


Republican: Bruce Rauner, Jeanne Ives

Democrat: Daniel Biss, Bob Daiber, Terry Getz, Tio Hardiman, Chris Kennedy, Robert Marshall, J.B. Pritzker

21st Illinois Senate District

Republican: Michael Connelly

Democrat: Laura Ellman

23rd Illinois Senate District

Democrat: Thomas Cullerton

Republican: Seth Lewis

24th Illinois Senate District

Republican: Chris Nybo

Democrat: Suzanne “Suzy” Glowiak

39th Illinois Senate District

Democrat: Don Harmon

41st Illinois Senate District

Republican: John Curran

Democrat: Bridget M. Fitzgerald

42nd Illinois House District

Republican: Burt Minor, Amy L. Grant, John Paul Augustynowicz, Ryan Edward Byrne

Democrat: Kathleen V. Carrier

46th Illinois House District

Democrat: Deb Conroy

Republican: Gordon (Jay) Kinzler, Roger Orozco

47th Illinois House District

Republican: Deanne Marie Mazzochi, Anthony R. Arendt

Democrat: James M. "Jim" Caffrey, Anne Sommerkamp

48th Illinois House District

Republican: Peter Breen

Democrat: Terra Costa Howard

77th Illinois House District

Democrat: Kathleen Willis

Republican: Anthony Airdo

81st Illinois House District

Republican: David Olsen

Democrat: Anne M. Stava-Murray

DuPage Country Board chairman

Republican: Dan Cronin

Democrat: Lynn LaPlante

DuPage County sheriff

Republican: James Mendrick, Frank Bibbiano

Democrat: Gregory H. Whalen

DuPage County clerk

Republican: Paul Hinds

Democrat: Jean Kaczmarek

DuPage County treasurer

Republican: Gwen Henry

DuPage County Board District 1

Republican: Sam Tornatore, Paul A. DeMichele, Paul Fichtner, Dino Gavanes

Democrat: Ashley J. Selmon, Zahra Suratwala

DuPage County Board District 2

Republican: Steve Nero, Peter "Pete" DiCianni

Democrat: Elizabeth (Liz) Chaplin, Arlene Kendorski, Claire Goldenberg

DuPage County Board District 3

Republican: Greg Hart, Greg Abbott, Martin T. Tully, Jim Broline

Democrat: Mehr Qayyum, Julie Renehan, John Basco

DuPage County Board District 4

Republican: Paula McGowen, Ron Almiron, Grant Eckhoff, Christopher J. Zaruba, Elizabeth "Beth" Tatro, Craig R. Chinchilla

Democrat: Trevor J. Orsinger, Hadiya Afzal, Mary FitzGerald Ozog

DuPage County Board District 5

Republican: Janice Marie Anderson, Patricia "Patty" Gustin

Democrat: Sadia G. Covert, Dawn DeSart

DuPage County Board District 6

Republican: Kevin Wiley, James F. " Jim" Zay, Sean M. McQuade

Democrat: Sheila C. Rutledge, Erica Green, John Maguire

Loading more