A Few Clouds
20°FA Few CloudsFull Forecast

Heritage Middle School principal terminated, District 100 officials decline to comment

Published: Thursday, May 15, 2014 4:33 p.m. CST • Updated: Friday, July 25, 2014 4:36 a.m. CST

BERWYN – Berwyn School District 100 officials have confirmed that Heritage Middle School Principal Laura LaSalle has been terminated.

LaSalle's firing came at a special meeting convened by the District 100 Board of Education on Wednesday. School District officials said a letter went out to parents in the district community May 15 explaining that LaSalle has been terminated, but fell short of giving a reason for her firing.

"Regrettably, the district is unable to provide any additional information related to this action due to the confidential nature of personnel matters," the letter stated.

Assistant Principal Randy Borgardt has been selected to finish up the year as administrator in charge at Heritage Middle School and Piper School Principal Samantha Shuman will assume responsibility for the District's Accelerated Program.

According to the letter, officials assured parents and students of "District 100’s commitment to the Heritage School community, as well as the district-wide Accelerated Learning Program."

A search is being conduced for LaSalle's replacement and officials assured parents of a smooth transition next year.

Superintendent Stan Fields would not comment on the firing or rumors of LaSalle being escorted from the building by police. According to Berwyn police, no officers escorted LaSalle from the school building.

At a special meeting March 31, the agenda indicated that LaSalle would be submitting a letter of resignation. However, Fields said no letter of resignation was submitted at that time or anytime after.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.

Watch Now

Player embeded on all SLM instances for analytics purposes.

Lemont varsity cheerleaders half-time

More videos »

Reader Poll

Who's your favorite Mount Rushmore president?
Thomas Jefferson
Abraham Lincoln
Teddy Roosevelt
George Washington