Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

Morton alums start athletic Hall of Fame

BERWYN – Morton is preparing for a new way to honor its standout athletes by starting an athletic hall of fame.

Ken Geiger, who coached football and other sports at Morton for more than 30 years, Bob Vashinko, a 1966 graduate with more than 30 years of coaching experience at Morton under his belt, Bob Govenat (1956 grad), Tony Vais (1963 grad) and Dwight Pawlowski (1962 grad) will be on the selection committee.

The initial inductees are mostly notable teams, although Bill Hapac and Dave Kocourek will be honored. Kocourek (1955 grad) continued his basketball and football careers at Wisconsin and went on to play with the San Diego Chargers and Oakland Raiders in the NFL. Hapac (1935 grad) was all-state in basketball and baseball and was an All-American in both sports at Illinois before coaching at Morton from 1952 to 1967.

List of Morton hall of fame inductees:

• 1927, 1932-33, 1942-43, 1950-51 boys basketball teams

• 1930-31, 1940-41, 1951-52, 1960-61, 1969-70 baseball teams

• 1964-65, 1969-70 undefeated football teams

• 1985-86 state champion girls softball team

• Bill Hapac

• Dave Kocourek

The Hall of Fame event will be from 5 to 10 p.m. May 17 at the La Grange American Legion Hall in La Grange.

The cost is $20 for those registered before May 17 and $30 at the door. Admission includes a five-course Italian buffet with a cash bar.

For information, email Dwight Pawlowski at

Loading more