45°FOvercastFull Forecast

Local grads play in D-III postseason

Published: Tuesday, March 11, 2014 4:51 p.m. CST

Three schools from the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin advanced to the NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship tournament, which began last week.

Illinois Wesleyan was the regular season league champion and features local players Ryan Coyle (Lisle, St. Francis), Rob Mahlke (Downers Grove North) and Danny Roadman (Wheaton Warrenville South).

The Titans beat Webster 71-70 in the opening round and then defeated St. Norbert 84-68 Saturday. Up next is Calvin in the third round Friday.

Coyle appeared in eight games, scoring 24 points. Mahlke saw action in two regular season games, tallying six points.

Wheaton College, which captured the CCIW tournament championship, also won its first two tournament games, defeating Rose-Hulman 64-57 and Penn State Behrend 68-40. The Thunder will play Dickinson on Friday.

Augustana qualified for the tourney after going 19-7 during the regular season but fell 87-68 to Wisconsin-Whitewater in the second round Saturday. The Vikings opened the postseason with an 88-77 win against St. Thomas.

Dan Jurgutis (Darien, Downers Grove South) is a junior at Augustana who averaged 8.9 points per game despite missing six contests with a football injury. The guard totaled 16 points off the bench against Wisconsin-Whitewater and had 13 against St. Thomas.

Junior Alex Dziagwa (Riverside-Brookfield) was also a member of Augustana’s team who saw action in 12 games and scored six points.

On the women’s side, Carthage was the lone representative of the CCIW in the NCAA Division III Women’s Basketball Championship. The squad notched playoff wins against St. Norbert (60-51) and Hope (72-67) last week and will play defending national champion DePauw on Friday.

Local graduate Kelsey Motto (Lemont) is a freshman on the Lady Reds.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.