Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.
Local News

La Grange League of Women Voters hosts Persons of Impact Award

LA GRANGE – The League of Women Voters of the La Grange Area will host its 2013 Persons of Impact Award event Sept. 12. 

The award was created to honor an individual, nonprofit organization or governmental entity for demonstrated leadership and significant action in advancing citizen awareness of public issues, and for encouragement of citizen participation in the democratic process. The award targets "change-makers" who reside in one of the 14 municipalities serviced by the La Grange Area League. 

The event, which is open to the public, will be held from 5:30 to 8 p.m. Sept. 12 at Mayslake/Peabody Estate, 1717 W. 31st St. in Oak Brook. The cost is $40, and registration is due by Aug. 30. Attendance also includes a silent auction and an optional Mayslake tour for a suggested $5 donation.

The guest speaker and master of ceremonies is Dane Placko, Emmy award-winning television special projects and investigative reporter for Fox WFLD-Ch. 32 in Chicago.

For more information, contact Jean Klotter at 708-846-3912. 

The 2013 honorees are listed below, with descriptions from the La Grange Area League.

Citizen Advocacy Center: With the Center’s focus on building democracy for the 21st century and its efforts to strengthen the voice of the public in the democratic process, there are many parallels to the League’s mission and action agenda. In the past, members of the La Grange Area League have utilized the resources of the Citizen Advocacy Center to plan and implement local community programs focusing on the Freedom of Information Act, first amendment rights, and community civics training sessions. This award is intended to highlight the tremendous work of the Citizen Advocacy Center in advancing a free, democratic society for all to enjoy.

Jeanine Jasica: Ms. Jasica is being recognized for her outstanding commitment of time, talent and integrity as the village clerk of Western Springs since 1987, and for her unsurpassed dedication as a community leader in the management of the election process and other protocols of local governance that impact the citizens and voters of Western Springs.

Samantha Satterthwait: Ms. Satterthwaite is being recognized for her outstanding leadership in establishing the nonprofit organization Walk with Therese to Stop Domestic Violence. We endorse the mission of Walk with Therese to end domestic violence by educating citizens of Chicagoland communities on the impact of domestic violence, providing training and techniques of non-violence and anti-violence, and offering safety plans to victims of domestic violence.

Loading more