York graduates win National Merit scholarships

ELMHURST – Two York High School graduates recently won National Merit Scholarships from their future universities.

Caroline A. Dierksheide and Evan P. Fabry were two of approximately 1,800 winners of college and university financed National Merit scholarships this year. Officials from each sponsor college selected winners from among National Merit Scholarship Program finalists, all of whom completed a detailed scholarship application, and earn impressive scores on the SAT.

Dierksheide won a scholarship from Washinton University in St. Louis where she plans to study writing. Fabry received his scholarship from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and plans to study computer science. They will each receive between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

They join another York graduate, Ushasi Naha, who previously won a National Merit scholarship in May.