Mostly Cloudy
64°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

Elmhurst travel tennis teams win championships

Published: Tuesday, June 4, 2013 12:50 p.m. CDT

ELMHURST – Two of the Elmhurst Park District's Courts Plus travel tennis teams recently won their Northern Illinois Travel Tennis League championships.

The Men's Division 2 Travel Team beat the No. 1 team in its division, 3.5-2.5, in the playoffs. Team members include Henry Choi, Jento Huang, Neal Johnson, Jason Macatangay, Gary Noffke, Tom Papucci, Cesar Peperia, Don Roubitchek, Joe Saltiel, Dwight Sinks, Chris Yarosz, Team Captain Jim Porter and Coach Jon Teune, Courts Plus tennis professional.

The Women's Division 4 American Travel Team also won its championship, beating the No. 1 team in its division, 3-1. The team was coached by Courts Plus tennis professionals Gena Fite and Adam Camp. Lorri Berg, Veronica Hoehn, Juliet Holubowitz, Kelly Johnson, Maria Madsen, Laura Marchetta, Nami Moran, Dana Smith, Judy Stavropoulis, Jennifer Toffler, Lori Tompos, Joanie Wegmann and Lisa Wiese are all team members.

The Women's Division 3 Central Travel Team and Women's Division 1 National Travel Team both came in second place in the NITTL playoffs for their respective divisions.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.

Reader Poll

How do you like to spend Mother's Day?
Doing whatever Mom wants to do.
I'm the mom, and I just want to see/hear from family
Mom's no longer with us, but it's a day to remember her
I don't mark Mother's Day