81°FOvercastFull Forecast

Obama declares Cook County disaster area; federal funds available

Published: Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:09 p.m. CDT

Federal assistance is available for residents affected by April flooding after President Barack Obama declared 11 Illinois counties disaster areas May 10, including Cook.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) operates the assistance program. Residents can register for assistance at  www.disasterassistance.gov or call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Central time, seven days a week.

In most cases, a FEMA inspector will call you within a few days of registering to arrange a visit to your damaged home or apartment. A FEMA inspector will always have an official badge visible during the inspection. Residents are being told to request to see identification before allowing the inspector to enter their home.

If you qualify for FEMA assistance, you will receive a federal government check or the funds will be directly deposited into your designated bank account. A separate letter also will be sent to you explaining how you may use the funds.  

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.

Reader Poll

What do you remember most about your high school graduation?
How long it was
Saying goodbye to friends
Excitement about the future
I don't remember it