A Few Clouds
43°FA Few CloudsFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Wheaton elected officials seated to school, park boards, city council

Published: Friday, May 17, 2013 6:00 a.m. CDT

WHEATON – Following the April 9 municipal election, several newly elected officials in Wheaton were sworn into office last week.

At the Wheaton City Council meeting May 6, five city councilmen took their oath of office. Incumbents Phil Suess, John K. Rutledge and Todd Scalzo were sworn into the north, south and west district seats, respectively. After filling the vacant at-large position on the council since late January, W. Thoreson Saline was sworn into his new seat in the east district. All of their terms will expire in May 2017.

John R. Prendiville was sworn into the open at-large seat to finish the remainder of Rep. Jeanne Ives’ term until May 2015. Ives resigned in November from the council to represent the 42nd District in the Illinois House.

On May 7, the Wheaton Warrenville Community Unit School District 200 Board of Education seated incumbents Barbara Intihar and Joann Coghill and two new board members, Jim Mathieson and Brad Paulsen.

Intihar was elected board president, Jim Vroman was elected vice president and Paulsen was elected secretary.

Jane Hodgkinson and incumbents John F. Kelly and Mark C. Schobel were sworn into their positions on the Wheaton Park District Board of Commissioners on Wednesday.

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.