Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

New Valley View School Board sworn in, positions elected

Valley View School District inducted its newly elected board members, then voted and appointed a presiding council Monday night.

Additionally, the board said goodbye to members Jim Curran and Ronnie Bull, honoring both with a commemorative plaque.

While Curran, the board secretary from 2009-13, opted not to run in the March election, Bull campaigned but only received 11.72 percent, or 2,282 votes – about 200 votes shy of winning a second term. He was the only incumbent not to be re-elected.

Valley View Board President Steve Quigley thanked both Bull and Curran for their years of service and dedication.

"There is a lot of time and effort that goes into being on a school board," Quigley said. "It is attending school functions, attending committee meetings, talking to people and getting feedback from the community feedback. I want to thank you both of you for your service."

Assuming the seats vacated by Bull and Curran – as well as the two other open spots from the March race – are incumbents Chrystal Hansen and Liz Campbell and newcomers Deborah Sykora and Dan Falese.

Sykora led all vote-getters with 18.4 percent of the vote, or 3,583 votes. She was followed by Hansen, with 14.54 percent, or 2,831 votes, Campbell, who received 14.46 percent, or 2,816 votes, and Falese, who tallied 12.77 percent, or 2,485 votes.

Each took the Valley View Board of Education oath, was sworn in and assumed their seats Monday evening.

The new school board then nominated and voted for the presiding roles of president, vice president, secretary, clerk, treasurer, leagal counsel and hearing officer.

Quigley and Rick Gougis retained their roles as president and vice president, respectively, while Hansen won the secretary position, which was up for grabs after Curran's departure.

The only dissenting vote was from Campbell, who nominated and voted for herself for all three positions.

Shelly Casey will again serve as board clerk, Joanne Bourg as treasurer, Tressler LLP as legal counsel, and Stephen Prodehl as hearing officer, all retaining their respective positions.

Loading more