Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe now to the print edition of Suburban Life.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Get text messages on your mobile phone or PDA with news, weather and more from

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Our My Suburban Life Daily Update will send you all of the news you need to keep up with the pace of news in DuPage and Cook County.

Village of Addison welcomes next leaders

ADDISON – For the sixth year, the Village of Addison hosted an inauguration ceremony as an inclusive community event, swearing in elected leaders to village, park, library and other boards.

Rich Veenstra took the oath of office Thursday night as Addison's next mayor, replacing retiring Mayor Larry Hartwig. Veenstra had previously served as village trustee and deputy mayor, running unopposed in the April 9 consolidated election for mayor.

Veenstra said he was humbled by the voters' choice, and planned to model Hartwig's leadership. He spoke to a crowd of more than 100 residents in the Addison Village Hall Rotunda after a ceremony honoring the elected officials, featuring a color guard presentation and music performed by the Indian Trail Junior High Chamber Orchestra.

"We renew our commitment to you and the community," Veenstra said.

Sandra Super, president of the Addison Public Library Board, gave a few highlights of new projects after Trustee Kathleen Reed was sworn in. Two new department heads are working with the community in public relations and circulation, and the library is about to open its teen media center.

"The library was able to accomplish this thanks to the village," Super said.

Donna Craft Cain, District 88 school board president, said the district is committed to improving student achievement this year and partnering with its feeder districts, which is "vital to its success."

Craft Cain was sworn in alongside school board members Jay Irvin and Thomas Edmier.

Joining them in taking oaths of office were: Bernadette LaRocca, trustee, Addison Fire Protection District; Deborah Gayon, commissioner, Addison Park District; board members John Daniels, Jeremiah Lange, Steve Nelms, James Towns and Taso Triantafillos, Addison School District 4; Lucille Zucchero, village clerk; and village trustees Catherine Kluczny, Sylvia Layne and Harry Theodore.

"I can't tell you how proud I am ... ," Veenstra said. "It's not just this team that will move Addison forward ... continuing intergovernmental cooperation is essential to moving Addison forward."

Loading more