A Few Clouds
55°FA Few CloudsFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Valley View honors 36 students with 'Those Who Excel' awards

Published: Monday, April 8, 2013 12:14 p.m. CDT

Top achievers from Bolingbrook and Romeoville high schools were honored at the annual Valley View School District “Those Who Excel” luncheon at Bolingbrook Golf Club April 3.

Hosted by the Board of Education, Those Who Excel has honored the “doers” and “achievers” in Valley View high schools since the early 1970s when several students were taken out to lunch by the school board president and district superintendent.

As the years went by, other board members and administrations joined in the annual outing to honor the young men and women who most demonstrated potential for becoming our leaders of tomorrow.  The end of the year get-together has become one of the highlights of the year for students, board members and administrators.

Bolingbrook High School winners are Andrew Limthongviratn (Academic Top Senior), Phoebe Mondala (Outstanding Career and Technical Education Student), Nneka Onyejiaka (Outstanding English Student), Maria Ortiz (Outstanding ESL Student), Alexa Piekarski (Outstanding Female Athlete), Aaron Bailey (Outstanding Male Athlete), Samantha Patterson (Outstanding Math Student), Shane Cook (Outstanding Music Student), Leah Pape (Outstanding NHS Student).

Janelle Villas (Outstanding Performing Arts Student) Kiran Syed (Outstanding ROTC Student), Michelle Luna (Outstanding Scholastic Bowl Student) Sandeep Bharadwaj (Outstanding Science Student) Alyssa Dieckhaus (Outstanding Social Studies Student) Brittany Owen (Outstanding Student Services Student) John Williams (Outstanding Transition Student) Carrie Anderson (Outstanding World Language Student).

Romeoville High School winners are Diane Alkatout (Academic Top Senior), Keith Jett (Outstanding Band Student), Robert Knepp (Outstanding Career and Technical Education Student),Mary Gitogo (Outstanding English Student), Abigail Smith (Outstanding Female Athlete), David Ridderhoff (Outstanding Journalism Student), Cierra Backstrom (Outstanding Leadership Member), Ameris Caleb Bailey (Outstanding Male Athlete), Megan Boots (Outstanding Math Student).

Daniel Quan (Outstanding MCJROTC Student), Veronica Patino (Outstanding NHS Student), Gabrielle Habeeb (Outstanding Performing Arts Student), Nicholas Sodt (Outstanding Science Student), Adebowale Adelabu (Outstanding Social Studies Student), Melanie Underwood (Outstanding Student Government Member) Emily Napoles (Outstanding Student Services Student), Carlos Manzo (Outstanding Transition Student), Janette Joerger (Outstanding World Language Student).

Get breaking and town-specific news sent to your phone. Sign up for text alerts from the Suburban Life Media.