Berwyn Police Department honors officers

BERWYN — Awards are given to winners, and everyone was a winner at the second annual Berwyn Police Department Awards Ceremony held March 18.

Mayor Robert Lovero and Police Chief Jim Ritz hosted the standing room-only event honoring and recognizing employees of the Berwyn Police Department.

Sgt. Michael Vokac was named police officer of the year and
the civilian employee of the year title went to Community Service Officer John Haralamos. Community Service Officer Sergio Diaz received a department commendation.

Life saving awards went to Division Cmdr. Michael Cimaglia and Officer
James Tadrowski.

Division Cmdr. Thomas O’Halloran and Community Service Officer Margo Raimondi each received a meritorious service award.

Unit commendations were issued to the Criminal Investigations Unit, Youth Investigations / Community Policing Unit and the Gang and the Drug Tactical Unit.

Numerous awards were also presented for years of service, good conduct, military service and traffic citations, which included DUI, seat belt and speeding enforcement.

DCC Awards for Loyalty-Camaraderie-Honor were given to the 11 new police officers who were hired in 2012.

The event was made possible through the efforts of the Berwyn Police Department Awards Committee and the Illinois Municipal Police Association.

The awards committee was established by the department, which established protocols, guidelines and criteria to receive awards based on acts of bravery, heroism, outstanding accomplishments and for exceptional performance by individuals or department units.

The volunteer committee includes Division Cmdr. Giordano Manfredini, Sgt. Lou Stillo, Sgt. Mike Ochsner, Sgt. John O’Halloran, Det. Carl Gray, Officer Ricky Smith, TCO Lindsey Fellows, and support staff Wilma Salvatore.